Three Thumbs: 8 July 2015

Three Thumbs GPS route

Three Thumbs GPS route

Not quite Dawson.. in fact, nothing like it at all! But that’s the power of the weather for you. Walks were needed for the club program, so I put my name down to lead one in the only uni break I get this year. I chose what I thought was an appropriate winter destination: Mount Dawson. On the north western point of the Mt Field plateau, I knew very little about it but that it was likely to be scrubby, it wasn’t particularly high, and may or may not have a view. More importantly it wasn’t too far away to drive to, and it should have been doable in a short short day.

Start of the track, nicely signed.

Start of the track, nicely signed.

But it wasn’t to be. The forecast was 95% chance of rain, snow down to 900m. I wasn’t feeling particularly well and spending the day in the cold and rain wasn’t sounding attractive at all, especially knowing I’d be working all night beforehand. I all but called it off, but when Jane sounded particularly keen to get out, I figured maybe Three Thumbs would suffice. It was a new addition to the revised peak baggers list, which I’m technically not following yet, but sometimes it comes in handy ;)!

Catherine and Jess pause for a chat. I was glad they were both there and enjoying it.

Catherine and Jess pause for a chat. I was glad they were both there and enjoying it.

Again, I knew nothing about it, except that the weather in Orford looked significantly better: 50% chance of rain! I was to learn from my fellow walkers as we sat and chatted in the Sorell Banjos that it was in the family walks book, and was on tastracks… Clearly I do  my research well! I wasn’t too fussed – I was pretty sure we’d get up and back without an issue.

Looking at the high point

Looking at the high point

I was tired, but a lot better than the day before, and had had a lovely visit from a friend earlier that morning at work, which had already made me smile. So it was a relaxed kind of day, with a very civilised 9 am start.

After a few renovations, Jess checks out the shelter... Comfy?

After a few renovations, Jess checks out the shelter… Comfy?

The drive was short and as we got our gear together we debated whether or not we’d need gaiters – it was THAT kind of walk. Then off we went. An easy track wove it’s way through dry schlerophyll forest, and it wasn’t long before the sheoak and banksia wars began. In between ducking to avoid accurate aim and occasionally sending a missile back, it was good to catch up with people, some of whom I hadn’t seen for quite a while.

Ben and Catherine take in the view

Ben and Catherine take in the view

After a few rises and dips, we found ourselves on the high point of Three Thumbs, marked by a white trig. Of more interest, just past the trig, however, was a stone shelter someone had built. And past it, was an appropriate spot to look out to Orford and Triabunna. It was nice to have no rain, and a view to look at, and I thanked Jane for making the walk happen after all.

When someone throws banana peel at you... they're asking for it down the back of their shirt.. clearly!

When someone throws banana peel at you… they’re asking for it down the back of their shirt.. clearly!

We chatted, ate, threw rocks out as far as we could and listened to them hit after quite a long pause, and Jess scored her own banana peel down the back of her shirt – I’m sure it was Ben’s way of congratulating her on getting through her placement ;)!

The cold eventually had us moving, and we took the forest loop back for something different. The banksia/sheoak wars were replaced by group conversation, which was really quite nice. And then we were back, before we knew it. We decided on lunch at the lookout, and it was nice to look out at Maria Island. I wondered if that’s where I’d be in a week’s time…reckon it might just be ;)!

All up: A VERY leisurely 2.09 hrs (including more than 30 min on top, and a few other lengthy breaks), 3.6km, 285m ascent.

Leave a Reply

